BENTON FIRE DISTRICT 4
Board of Commissioners Meeting
Board Room of 5275 Swan Lake Road, Bossier City, LA 71111
July 17, 2017 3:00pm

Chairman Johnny Barnette called the public meeting of the Board of Commissioners to order. Lisa Chaffin called roll as follows: Johnny Barnette, Jerry Bordelon, and Marvin Myers were present. Jeff Wyatt and Bob Robinson were absent. Fire Chief JT Wallace Jr., Assistant Chief Hurmon Gibson, Firefighter Christopher Faulk, and Travis Morehart were also present. The meeting was held in the Board Room of the Bossier Parish EMS and Fire Complex, 5275 Swan Lake Road, Bossier City, Louisiana. The invocation was given by Johnny Barnette.

**MOTION** was made by Marvin Myers and seconded by Jerry Bordelon to accept the written minutes for June 20, 2017. The Chairman called for public comment; there being none, vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

**MOTION** was made by Marvin Myers and seconded by Jerry Bordelon for the public meeting to go into Executive Session.

**MOTION** was made by Marvin Myers and seconded by Jerry Bordelon for Executive Session to end and resume the regular scheduled public meeting.

**MOTION** was made by Marvin Myers and seconded by Jerry Bordelon to approve the written Financial Reports for July 17, 2017 (with noted discrepancies) The Chairman called for public comment; there being none, vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

## **OLD BUSINESS**

Fire Chief JT Wallace Jr. reported that the Tax Millage Roll Forward WILL NOT happen due to late advertising.

Fire Chief JT Wallace Jr. reported that the purchase of a new grass truck will be put on hold until we know that the financials are right to do so.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

Travis Morehart reported one finding and the correction plan for the 2016 Audit: <u>FINDING</u>-The adopted budget for the general fund reflected an ending balance deficit. <u>RECOMMENDATION</u>-Appropriately adopt the budget in order to comply with state law.

**MOTION** was made by Marvin Myers and seconded by Jerry Bordelon to approve the Internal Personnel Action Forms for Lisa Chaffin, LeSann Smith, Reggie McEntyre, Matt Branch, Dillon Bruce, Mitchell Joiner, Autry Lowry, Parker Atwood, Jonathan Craft, John Cassel, Darrel McLemore, Christopher Faulk, and Russel Biggs. The Chairman called for public comment; there being none, vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

Fire Chief JT Wallace Jr. reported that the Fire Chiefs Secretary Positon previously held by LeSann Smith will not be filled for a while. Duties of that position will be performed by Lisa Chaffin and Tim Turner.

**MOTION** was made by Marvin Myers and seconded by Jerry Bordelon to adjourn. The Chairman called for public comment. There being none, vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

Lisa Chaffin

Johnny Barnette, Chairman